OHA announces 2016 annual award recipients

In 1993, the Oral History Association established a series of awards to recognize outstanding achievement in oral history. We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2016 Oral History Association annual awards listed below. Thank you to the members of the award committees who contributed their time to make these outstanding selections.

The 2016 awards will be presented at the OHA annual meeting in Long Beach on Thursday evening, October 13, 2016.


Article Award
“Under Storytelling’s Spell? Oral History in a Neoliberal Age”
Alexander Freund, The University of Winnipeg
Oral History Review, Winter/Spring 2015

Book Award
Memory, Subjectivities, and Representation: Approaches to Oral History in Latin America, Portugal, and Spain
Rina Benmayor, Maria Eugenia Cardenal de la Nuez, and Pilar Dominguez Prats, editors
Palgrave Macmillan, 2016

Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (major project)
New Roots/Nuevas Raíces: Improving Global Access of Latino Oral Histories
Latino Migration Project, Southern Oral History Program, and the University Libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (small project)
Talking the Blues: An Oral History of Blues Musicians in Austin, Texas
Roger Davis Gatchet, West Chester University

Postsecondary Teaching Award
Brooke Bryan, Antioch College

Stetson Kennedy Vox Populi (“Voice of the People”) Award
Mario T. Garcia, Distinguished Professor of Chicano Studies and History, University of California, Santa Barbara

Emerging Crises Oral History Research Fund grant
“Climate Refugees: The Vanishing of Isle de Jean Charles, Louisiana”
Heather Stone, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Scroll to Top