OHA conference to recognize 2017 award winners

Continuing a tradition established in 1994, the Oral History Association recognizes exemplary oral history work with the following awards to be presented at the 2017 conference:


Article Award

“Allan Nevins is Not My Grandfather: The Roots of Radical Oral History in the United States”
Daniel R. Kerr


Book Award

A Two-Spirit Journey: The Autobiography of a Lesbian Ojibwa-Cree Elder
Ma-Nee Chacaby and Mary Louisa Plummer, University of Manitoba Press, 2016


Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (large)

Oklahoma 100 Year Life Oral History Project
Oklahoma State University, Alex Bishop and Tanya Finchum

Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (small)

University High School Oral History Project
University of South Carolina, Christian K. Anderson and Andrea L’Hommedieu


Martha Ross Teaching Award

John Hutchinson, Marin Academy, San Rafael, CA


Oral History in a Nonprint Format Award (two awards in this category)

Gatheround: Stories of Atlanta (Museum Exhibit), Atlanta History Center, Calinda Lee

Making Gay History (Podcast), Eric Marcus


Stetson Kennedy Vox Populi Award

Staughton and Alice Lynd

Scroll to Top